Summer Sings with Tomatoes

It might seem redundant, but another post about Tomatoes seems altogether fair to me.  Tomatoes from the farmer’s market have come in by the box full.  My favorite dish was the fresh tomato marinara that I made for my son’s 18th birthday.  I am not sure which of these two salads that I made recently was best; both are worth trying.

For a business meeting at my home, I prepared a BLT salad. Complete with colorful greens, heirloom tomatoes and a simple dressing, it was sort of a play on the sandwich of the same name, but made much ‘dressier’ presentation.

BLT salad

Another rendition of the classic ‘Caprese’ salad was included in my dinner with friends last night.  A base of fresh, baby arugula topped with a collection of my neighbor’s tomatoes and some from my yard too.  The bright yellow and green tomato taking center stage is the ‘Green Zebra’ plucked right from the vine yesterday afternoon.  ‘Juliet’, ‘Sungold’ and a handful of tiny red grape tomatoes rounded out the mix.  Normally, I would serve a balsamic vinaigrette (Cook With Mary brand of course), but last night, I opted for the ultra simple 18 year old balsamic vinegar and a bottle of walnut oil that I received recently as a gift.  Wow!  What a flavor combination.  I topped the salad with some fresh Feta cheese rather than the usual fresh mozzarella.  It is amazing to me how such a simple salad can have such a wide range of tastes just by changing up the  cheese and dressing choices.

Caprese Salad

Let me know what your favorite version of a classic summer tomato dish might be.

BLT Salad Dressing

  • 2/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbls vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chopped fresh herbs: chives, parsley, tarragon – to taste

Mix all ingredients together and serve with a platter full of lettuce leaves, sliced fresh tomatoes and crisp bacon.  Bread is optional!

Enjoy!

2 responses to “Summer Sings with Tomatoes

  1. Mary, you nailed it for my favorite tomato salad! I n the past,I also have had a tomato pie that was so scrumptious that I dreamed about it. I’ve not been able to find a good tomato pie recipe since that fateful day. Do you have any recommendations?

    • Susan, I too have tasted wonderful tomato pies/tarts. My problem is that I make something, then don’t write down how it was done and wonder if I’ll ever create it exactly like I remembered. Watch for upcoming posts – I’ll be working on that. There are just too many wonderful tomatoes right now to pass up the opportunity.
      Take care. M

Leave a Reply

