It’s the Berries!

Strawberry Season is in full swing!  I lucked out last week when a friend of mine called to see if I wanted some strawberries.  Sure, I said.  How many was the next question.  I scored 4 gallons of luscious, red berries and have been jammin’ ever since.

May Strawberries

I couldn’t begin to count the number I ate as I was capping the berries.  I washed and froze a gallon whole for smoothies, made 2 batches of Strawberry Freezer jam, and served fresh strawberries with vanilla pound cake on Saturday night.  Packages of crushed berries are on their way to my freezer for late summer daiquiris, sorbets and perhaps some more jam making.  Barbara Kingsolver is whispering in my ear to ‘eat local’.  And, with the year nearly half over (I know, don’t remind me), I am thinking that strawberry jam and a fresh loaf of bread or some scones would make a great Christmas gift!  So, I’d guess I’d better stop sharing the jam now and stock the freezer for winter.

If making jam seems a bit archaic, too homey for you, or just too much trouble, I beg you to give it a try.  Just once will be all it takes to convince you that not only do you have time, but there really is no fresher tasting jam than freezer jam.  Both Ball and Sure-jel make a powdered pectin product that can be used with the freezer method.  A quart of strawberries, 4 cups of sugar and a package of powdered pectin is all you need.  So, for less than $10, you can freeze 6 6-oz jars of strawberry jam. Find bargains on jars at yard sales, the Goodwill and more places.  New ones will be about $7 for a dozen.

You don’t have time, right?  How about 30 minutes?  Do you have 30 minutes?  You can do it!!

Get this process down, and you’ll be chomping at the bit to make blueberry jam.  Peaches will follow, then plums.  Before you know it, you’re an expert.  You don’t have to tell anyone else how easy it is.

You can visit my website for class information, or email me for details.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

