Goat Cheese Bruschetta with Olive Tapenade

I am working on my Italian pronunciation.  So far, it’s pretty pitiful.  Bruschetta rolls down my gullet alot easier than it rolls off my tongue.  I hear the word spoken correctly, but I can not consistently say it properly.  Brew-shetta comes out.  Brew-sketta is correct.  Thank goodness I can cook it better than I can pronounce it. 

Late last Saturday afternoon, I had the house to myself.  Music – eclectic and at a moderate volume.  Friends – in cue for dinner.  Husband and son – on their way back from Lexington.  Alone with Brie (she doesn’t cause any problems), I was prepping dinner, planning and sipping.  Oh, yeah.  Did I mention I was alone?

A partial loaf of Blue Dog baguette – sliced thin.  Olive tapenade – at the ready. Capriole Farms Chevre and Basil Pesto – check and double check.  I pulled my list of ingredients out onto the counter and began assembling a simple appetizer.  Enough for 5 people, a hearty beginning to a meal with friends.  So much for planning.

The friends begged off.  The husband wasn’t hungry enough for dinner.  The son – PLEASE – dinner with the old folks on Saturday?  I didn’t think so.  Instead of the dinner I had planned, Tony and I finished off the bottle of wine and had just the appetizer in front of the fire.   Very satisfying, simple and made with local bread and cheese, and homemade pesto oil and tapenade.

Goat Cheese Bruschetta

Goat Cheese Bruschetta with Olive Tapenade

  • Olive oil
  • 1/2 loaf  baguette, thinly sliced
  • 2-4 oz fresh goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup olive tapenade
  • 1 plum tomato, seeded and diced
  • 1 Tbls basil pesto
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • finely shredded parmesan or romano cheese, optional

Preheat the oven to 400. 

Pour about 1 Tbls of olive oil onto a half sheet pan.  Smear it around the pan until you have a thin, even layer.  Place the sliced baguette on the pan, pressing the slices into the oil, then turn the slices over.  Smear a bit of the goat cheese onto each slice of bread.  Top with a teaspoon or so of the tapenade.   Sprinkle with the diced tomatoes and add the shredded parmesan, if using.  Grind some black pepper over the bruschetta. 

Thin the pesto with two tablespoons of olive oil and drizzle over the bruschetta.  Bake in the preheated oven for 5-8 minutes, or until the toasts are hot and beginning to brown at the edges. 

Serves 4 – 6.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

