A place at the table

It’s Christmas Eve. For the Wheatley household, that means a dinner party that will include some family, some friends – old and new, and tonight, even some people we haven’t met yet.  For about 12 or so years now, Christmas Eve was moved from my mom’s house to mine for a number of reasons.  Widely spaced siblings made it difficult to coordinate work and family schedules and our traditional Christmas Eve moved to the weekend before. 

Our table at times has had as few as 8 people, but tonight, we’re up to 21.  Especially fun tonight, there will be a rather large contingent of young people.  Usually my 2 kids are the only ones.  Tonight there will be 7.  I always cringe at the thought of segregating the kids from the adults, but tonight the youngs ones (ages 11 – 21) have asked to have their own table. 

Most everyone (that I have met, anyway) has had a part in deciding on the menu.  Josh and Lauren wanted roasted asparagus, Kyra and Logan voted for broccoli.  Our neighbor, Dianne is bringing a sweet potato casserole, I opted out of twice backed potatoes for a twice baked potato casserole.  Tony is handling the smoker and has elected to do a selection of pork roast, turkey breast and side of salmon.  It’s fun to try to make everyone’s culinary dreams come true. 

A few will bring bottles of cheer, there will be lots of cheer – some laced with nervous excitement, some chemically altered, but cheer none the less.  With candles aglow, the evening will proceed through multiple courses, good natured teasing and most likely a few political and celebrity centered digs. Rick and Tiger will be the most likely targets I suppose – and well deserved, I’d say.  We’ll be reminiscing, and all in all, probably partying just like you. 

But this blog is mostly about food, after all, so I thought I would share the menu with you.  Perhaps you’ll have an idea to help through menu planning for an upcoming party.  And, if you find yourself adrift on Christmas Eve, know that there will most likely be a place at our table.  Meanwhile, have the happiest of holidays! 

Christmas Eve at the Wheatley’s

Cranberry and Citrus Punch

Sweet and Spicy Toasted Nuts

Crab and Artichoke Dip with Crackers

Guacamole and Chips

Smoked Salmon, Turkey and Pork

Sweet Potato Casserole

Twice Baked Potato Casserole

Roasted Asparagus with herb butter

Corn Pudding

Glazed Carrots with Ginger and Brown Sugar

Steamed Broccoli w/Lemon Butter Sauce

Crisp Baguette and Butter

Chocolate Layer Cake

Coconut Layer Cake

Candies and assorted Holiday Cookies

Coffee

And to all a good night.

6 responses to “A place at the table

  1. mmmphhhhh, and the recipes for this culinary delight can be found??? where???

  2. oh, gosh, NOW I cannot recall which of those culinary delights tweaked my brain…several, and gosh, WHERE RU??? Ur time/date stamp says 7pm on the 25th…here in California, it’s just a little after 11:00 a.m. Hope your holiday was fab, thanks Cats

  3. So strange! I saw the time and date post, but I figured it was from where YOU are. I am in Louisville, KY and it’s only 2:23 PM on Christmas Day. My holiday is well underway and I am blogging about the day. You’ll see later, I hope. How did you find me? Are you a blogger too? Greeting and Happy Christmas from KY.

  4. one of my friends posted your site on FB, and now i can’t find your original menu; i gave my guests the choice of leg o’ lamb or prime rib,
    they chose the prime rib, add’l, wild rice w/mushrooms, baked candied yams, roasted root vegetables (i usually baste these w/goose grease, but my DIL is a health nut, we’ll use olive oil), salad w/ baby lettuces (from their garden); tomorrow is turkey tacos, traditional in my family since the kids were tiny (they’re 46 & 47 now) so, not as huge a menu as sometimes… but i dearly love to cook, and actually printed out your whole blog the first time i read it…hugs and blessings to you and your family
    Cats,

  5. now, the blog shows up!!! well the crab and artichoke dip looked very interesting, and i’m always checking out new sweet potato or yam recipes, guess I’ll have to check out Iyam what I yam… ?? hmmm???

Leave a Reply

