Versatile, easy olive relish

When I was in school, making this was one of my Aha moments.  How could anything so easy be this good?  Rarely do I hear that someone doesn’t like this olive relish (or tapenade).  Some people will say “I’m just not an olive person”…blah, blah, blah.  I try to be patient with those people.  I try not to roll my eyes, but I can feel my jaws clenching.  How can you not like that briny, pickly, salty taste? 

It just goes to show you that everyone’s taste buds just don’t react the same to some foods.  I suppose that someone who might not like chocolate, let’s say, could not possibly have the same experience as I when I let a piece of dark chocolate melt on my tongue.  It takes all sorts, they say.

This relish will be a hit at your holiday gathering.  As an appetizer, spread it on a slice of french bread with some fresh goat cheese.  Use it on a pizza, as a part of a bruschetta bar,  or spoon it on ice cream.  Just kidding about that last one.  It lasts for 3-4 weeks in the refrigerator and pairs nicely with toasted nuts.  It can also be used as a sandwich or panini spread.

Olive Relish

3 cloves garlic

1 jar (about 18 ounces) sliced or whole pimento stuffed olives

2 cans pitted black olives

freshly grated black pepper

2 ounces olive oil

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1 small jar diced pimento, drained slightly

jarred capers, optional as a garnish

Chop the garlic in a large capacity food processor.  Add the remaining ingredients and pulse until uniformly chopped.  Move to an air-tight storage container (perferably glass) and tightly cover.  Keep refrigerated until 1/2 hour prior to serving. Serve in small bowls garnished with capers and additional olive oil, if desired. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

