I Love Pancakes

I do, I love pancakes.  Not too much creeps me out more though, than using boxed mixes.  I read an article a few years ago on the hidden trans fats in boxed baking mixes (cakes and the like), and have been on sort of a campaign to assure people how easy it is to make their own cakes, brownies and in this case, pancakes. 

When I need guidance on how to put together a mix, I generally open up Joy of Cooking.  My first and most reliable souce for basic kitchen science.  I adapted the book’s sour milk pancakes recipe to include mostly whole wheat flour and added a bit of cinnamon, oh and also made them a bit sweeter.  They are a cake after all.  The result was sublime.  We doubled up and made a big batch at the Farmers’ Maket last weekend, they were a big hit with The Bee’s Knees honey as our only accoutrement.

Bee's Knees Honey

Bee's Knees Honey

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Pancakes

 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/3  cup unbleached all purpose flour

1 Tbls sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 eggs

1/2 cup buttermilk or plain yogurt

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbls melted butter or oil

Mix dry ingredients together.  Mix eggs and remaining ingredients together, then combine the two mixtures until relatively smooth.  Don’t overmix.

Heat a griddle until hot, lightly oil.  Pour or scoop the batter onto the pan and cook as you would any pancake. 

Your homemade jams, honey, sorghum or maple syrup make great accompaniments.  My favorite topping would be fresh berries or other fruit and whipped cream. 

Enjoy!

2 responses to “I Love Pancakes

  1. How much cinnamon did you put in them? I didn’t see it listed in the recipe. I can’t wait to make them – they sound delicious!

Leave a comment