If you were lunching with me…

You’d be having roasted corn polenta with roasted tomatoes, chicken, eggplant and peppers.  You’d be having leftovers from an Italian Cooking Class.  I had almost forgotten that these existed in my fridge, shew!  Glad I caught site of them.  Tossing them in a few more days might have made me weep.

I love polenta, in fact I feel somewhat responsible to help people understand how versatile and delicious polenta is. So rich and satisfying, it seems like it should be winter time comfort food, but the clean taste of polenta with just roasted fresh farmers’ market corn must be enjoyed at the corn’s peek.  Right now. 

Corn in this part of the country might last through September if we are lucky.  Right now, I am buying a dozen ears at the market each week and finding myriad ways to work them into the classes I teach and the meals I fix my family.  Corn transcends cultural lines and winds up in Italian, Mexican and American culinary traditions, among others of course. 

I use polenta under ratatouille and  black bean chili just to name two concepts.  In my class a few days ago, I oven roasted grape and cherry tomatoes, eggplant, bite-sized pieces of chicken and bell peppers separately, then mixed them together to serve over the polenta.  You can check my previous blog about Ratatouille to use another idea.  Here is the roasted corn polenta idea:

Roasted Corn Polenta

3 cups water

salt

1 cup instant polenta

2-4 Tbls of unsalted butter (depending on how decadent you feel)

1/4 – 1/2 cup whipping cream or 1/2 & 1/2 (ditto)

kernels from 2 ears of fresh corn*

Pepper to taste

* To roast the corn kernels, place on a rimmed baking sheet and drizzle with a bit of olive oil.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Roast in a 400 degree oven for 12-15 minutes, or until the corn begins to carmelize.  Stir often to ensure the kernels don’t dry up.  Set aside while preparing the polenta.

Bring the water to a boil.  Salt and pepper as you like, then whisk in the polenta.  Stir to smooth out any lumps and cook until thickened, about 4-5 minutes.  Stir in the butter, cheese and corn.  Adjust seasonings. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

